Friend Friday: Sir, You Flatter me…maybe not

Blogger copying is on the chopping block today with the Friend Friday group… is it sincere flattery or something more sinister? Let’s dig in and discuss it.

1. What are the ‘unwritten rules’ about coping content that we
bloggers should all abide by?
Since I am a noob, I honestly don’t know but the Golden Rules works well here I’d say. Do unto others as you would have done unto you. If you don’t want some to copy and straight jack your content then don’t do it to others. There are always going to be folks who are just unethical who will do anything to have their “15 minutes of fame” (Afrobella is going through this right now, and I am damn mad for her) but for the most part people are just ignorant of the correct way things should be done.

2. They say imitation is the highest form of flattery. But when it a
post imitation and when is it copying?
A post becomes copying when word for word, idea for idea are taken and presented as if it is your own. That my dears is copying, it’s like sitting next to a kid at school and writing down her answers on your paper, then passing it in to the teacher as if you did the work yourself. Imitation is much more subtle, it can and usually does seek to honor the originator. It makes reference to the originator but showcases the thought through your eyes. It pays homage yet says this is the way I do it.

3. Taking another blogger’s idea (perhaps for an outfit, or DIY
tutorial) is pretty common in the blogging world. Do you think it is
necessary to credit the original source?
No, not necesarily however it does depend on how much license they have taken with the original idea. Case in point, The seriously rocking Curvatude wrote a post a few days ago about the company, ShoeDazzle, she told of her experience with the company and what she purchased from them. I too am a customer of ShoeDazzle and her post inspired me to do my own take on it. But after thinking about it, I decided against it, after all what can I say that hasn’t been already said. It’s not rocket science, the premise is quite simple and was explained throughly. I guess I said all that to say, if I had gone ahead and written the post, under these circumstances, I would have felt compelled to give Curvatude her due as she sparked the original thought.

4. How have you improved your blog by comparing it to other bloggers? Have you made changes due to something you have seen others doing?
I am a new blogger, so there is major room for improvement, I am constantly tweaking my blog based on what I see out here in the Style Nation (as per Style Underdog that is what the fashion/style blogosphere is dubbed and I LOVE IT) but never outright copied anyone’s style. I think we can all learn something from each other to make our individual blogs the best they can be.

5. Have you ever had one of your posts copied by another blogger or
publication? How did you handle the situation?
Not to my knowledge, I pray it doesn’t but I have some great bloggers to draw experience from should something like that occur.

Katy Rose of Modly Chic is the originator of the Friend Friday blogger group. Drop her a line if you want to join in on the fun.

image credit:http://4simpsons.files.wordpress.com/2008/01/copycat.jpg

About Minister of Style

I am a mom of 6, wife and minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ. I love fashion and always have but sometimes my vocation and my hobby clash. On this blog, I hope they can learn to co exist together. I also blog about my beautiful daughter, Tatiana who happens to have Down syndrome. She is the joy of my life and it is my prayer that people will come to know that people with Down syndrome are just that people first, the condition is secondary and should be treated as such. View all posts by Minister of Style

2 responses to “Friend Friday: Sir, You Flatter me…maybe not

  • Tracy

    Wow. This was a great Friend Friday post. I am noticing there is a lot of………………competiveness, for lack of a better word, in the bloggosphere. I would be flattered if someone jacked a line, idea, or style from my blog. However, I would be hurt and angry if someone cut and pasted a post wholesale, presenting something as their’s.

    I am new to blogging and naively thought, that when I saw posts that were similar in tone, concept, style, and wording, it was just a case of great minds thinking alike. Now I know better.

    • Minister of Style

      Thank you..:-) I do think that “great minds think alike” happens quite often especially in the “on trend” topics but sometimes an idea is sparked from reading someone else blog. Getting the creative juices flowing from other bloggers is cool, outright stealing…well you know, is just wrong. I too would be flattered, heck I am happy that I get a few comments now and then. Peace my sister.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

