Friend Friday: A New Blog, New You

This is the last Friend Friday of the year 2010! It has been such a blast to be a part of a community of beautiful, intelligent and stylish women. What started out as one blogger Katy of Modly Chic posting her thoughts as a way to reach out to her readers and other bloggers, has rapidly become a huge chain of connectedness to the Style Nation. Our group has grown by leaps and bounds, it is exciting to see, and I can’t wait to see what comes next from the Friend Friday group.

1. What’s the one thing you vow to learn or do in 2011 to improve your blog?
I have to learn HTML! I do not understand the inner workings of blog construction, so I am often limited by the creativity of others instead of being free to create my own vision for my blog. I see exactly how I want to be branded but I don’t know how to get there in terms of the visual conceptions of the blog. My finances won’t allow me to hire someone to do it for me, so I have to do what I always do when I don’t have the cash- DIY.

2. What did you learn about blogging in 2010 that you plan to put into practice next year?
There were so many things that I learned about blogging that will help make me a better blogger. Katy Rose wrote an excellent piece on OOTD blogging that helped me greatly since I consider myself an OOTD blogger primarily. I plan to implement many of the tips I have been given to take me to the next level in blogging.

3. Do you have any high-level goals for your blog in the coming year?
Monetization? More comments? More connections with other bloggers? A new template?
Well I just purchased my own domain name so I’ll be moving things on over to my new place soon. I also am looking to revamp my blog’s appearance…look for a jazzier looking face in 2011! I want to post at least 5 days a week without fail. Daily posting is the name of the game in OOTD blogging. I don’t normally post on weekends because I rarely go out on a Saturday and Sundays are usually my most conservative dressing day as I am about God’s business. while I still believe in looking great, I do not wear clothing that will call a lot of attention to my appearance on Sundays (at least when in church). I am either in a suit or a robe, nothing too eye catching. I often do not post my OOTD because I am not pleased with how I look or how the photo came out but part of the growth is to push past the fear and do it anyway. Lawyerdoll is great at being transparent and honest regardless of how she feels the outcome is. I love her blog, she is so refreshingly honest.

4. If you could collaborate with one other blogger within your sphere of influence in 2011, who would you like to collaborate with, and what would you like to collaborate on?
Honestly there isn’t one blogger in particular but a whole slew of bloggers…too many to name names however I would like to start my weekly guesting posting of how Christian bloggers style themselves for church back up again in the new year. It is called Sundays Best (I know, so original, lol) I have already had Reiko of God’s Favorite Shoes and Leslie of Fashion du jour as guest bloggers and I am on the prowl for new posters. Please feel free to contact me if you are interested, no need to stand on ceremony and wait for me to find you. My spirit has been prompting me to start a Christian bloggers group so I am being prayerful about God’s leading in that area.

5. What do you plan to do to support other bloggers next year?
Keep on encouraging, nurturing and supporting when given the opportunity. I am dying to sponsor a New Jersey fashion/style bloggers meet up but I sincerely don’t know if I can take on the challenge alone. Any takers willing to partner up with me to get this party started?

About Minister of Style

I am a mom of 6, and a minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ. I love fashion and always have but sometimes my vocation and my hobby clash. On this blog, I hope they can learn to co exist together. I also blog about my beautiful daughter, Tatiana who happens to have Down syndrome. She is the joy of my life and it is my prayer that people will come to know that people with Down syndrome are just that people first, the condition is secondary and should be treated as such. View all posts by Minister of Style

3 responses to “Friend Friday: A New Blog, New You

  • lawyerdoll

    Aw shucks… I just figure I’m I a hot mess any given day, we might as well get some entertainment value from it!

  • Allie

    I love reading your Friend Fridays! I swear, I learned the most HTML from when I was a “Knottie” on the Knot and made a Bio (personal page). This site has links in the center on how to make a bio and it helped so much with figuring out how to do links, images, colors, change fonts, etc. http://bios.magnificentbliss.com/specialty/

    I look forward to the growth and progress of your blog!

  • Tommie Romero

    When we take hold of a dream, we are assigned a sort of spiritual plot of land. Depending on the dream will depend on the plot. If we want to grow fresh peaches for our family, we don’t need a thousand acres. But, if we wish to make a living as a peach grower? We’ll have much more land and work ahead.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

