Express Yourself

I have always believed that clothing should allow the wearer to express their personalities as well as their own personal style. As a minister, I am not always afforded the opportunity to dress in the manner that pleases me as I am representative of God and first and foremost what pleases Him must be my first priority. But often times it is not God who is frowning or turning up His nose at my selections it is His most precious creations….us. I am sensitive to the leading of the Holy Spirit, I submit myself to His inspection daily in the choosing of what I will wear. I do not push past that uncomfortable feeling I get in my spirit when I know I am pushing the envelope way too far and wear what I want anyway. I take my uneasiness as a sign that I am being cautioned not to pursue that particular look or article of clothing….I take heed. However I find that I am judged far more by people than God ever does, questionable looks, hard stares, whispers as you walk by, subtle suggestions or outright attacks have come my way from time to time. My only question I have is why? If God has not told me not to wear that outfit, then why should you?. I believe in modesty in my apparel, I answer to a higher judge than most, as well as I am a mother, a wife, and a grandmother…I have people loooking up to me, that inspires me to dress my very best.

I do not subscribe to the notion that female ministers have to be frumpy to be taken seriously, that we can’t be pretty, polished and stylish too. That we can’t find a way to express to the world who we are and who were serve in the same closet, ya feel me! I am no less holy and anointed just because I wear Christian Louboutin,( yeah right I wish, I am happy if I can afford a pair of Carlos Santanas) than the woman who wears Lifestyle shoes (no offense if you do, they are just not MY style). I can still preach, teach and pray because what I wear does not define my gifts and calling but what has been placed in me does but more importantly who placed it in me. So let’s make room for those who dance to a different set of drums but still wear the banner proudly to represent the Holy One, Jesus Christ.

My outfit today is a dress that was not quite a maxi so I had it shortened to knee length because tea length doesn’t work well on me. I feel it is still a bit too long but maybe I need to jack it up about an inch with a belt. Because it is strapless to make it work appropriate and modest, I threw on a yellow shrug. I’m a goof ball (I know many of you don’t know that about me but I am), so my photographer caught me acting goofy. He decided to arise early enough to capture my look for today, you know how summer vacation makes all student photographers lazy, lol.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Minister of Style

I am a mom of 6, and a minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ. I love fashion and always have but sometimes my vocation and my hobby clash. On this blog, I hope they can learn to co exist together. I also blog about my beautiful daughter, Tatiana who happens to have Down syndrome. She is the joy of my life and it is my prayer that people will come to know that people with Down syndrome are just that people first, the condition is secondary and should be treated as such. View all posts by Minister of Style

Leave a Reply

