Breaking up is hard to do

Dear Cork Soled Wedge:
I want to love you, I really, really do! I saw you and became infatuated with you immediately. That cork heel with side cutouts beckoned me to take a closer look and when I did, I found out that you are black and shiny but not patent leather with pretty little beads in a circle on the top to embellish. Ooh wee, I could feel my heart racing at the thought of what we could accomplish together. The outfits that were dancing in my head, the heights we could achieve (I do mean that literally since you are a tall, thick drink of water) you would take me from 5″3 to oh about 5″6….see why I want to love you? But alas, I gotta tell the truth, the bloom is off the rose. I know that everyone, who is anyone and calls themselves fashionable is wearing wedges but I will let you in on a little secret….I CAN’T WALK IN YOU!!!! ok, it’s off my chest, I can exhale now. I wear 4 inch stiletto and platform heels daily, why oh why can I not wear a 3.5 inch wedge? I feel unstable, off kilter and I know that it is not my imagination because as I was walking into the building to work this morning, I damn near took a fall from grace but thanks be to God, I caught myself as I was attempting to go down. Humph that was not going to happen, too many people were in the hall, can you imagine (yeah you probably can but it didn’t happen so you can’t laugh). So I have concluded that I am not cool enough to master the art of high heeled wedge wearing so I shall pass on this beautiful trend. I am officially ending our relationship. Please don’t cry, I didn’t mean to hurt your feelings or mislead you in anyway, I tried to make it work but I just don’t want to fall everytime I wear you. I am also fickle and fall in love with every pretty, sexy, shoe that comes along….don’t you know that by now?. I hope someday you can forgive me but I understand that for now that you just want to be left alone until someone who really appreciates you comes along and loves you properly. Gotta go now, I just saw a black, white and red sandal that wraps around the ankle, I meant to say, I have to get back to work now, be strong ok, peace.

About Minister of Style

I am a mom of 6, and a minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ. I love fashion and always have but sometimes my vocation and my hobby clash. On this blog, I hope they can learn to co exist together. I also blog about my beautiful daughter, Tatiana who happens to have Down syndrome. She is the joy of my life and it is my prayer that people will come to know that people with Down syndrome are just that people first, the condition is secondary and should be treated as such. View all posts by Minister of Style

Leave a Reply

