Help me pack

I know today is Talkative Tuesdays and I am supposed to have something to say profound but guess what….I don’t. I am multitasking like crazy today, planning our annual trip to Jamaica, downloading apps for my Blackberry to make me even more superefficient than I already am, reading blogs and working all at the same time. Since I am so focused on trip planning, I am going to turn the tables on you today. What things are essentials that must make the cut when you are traveling? Do you check your luggage or are you strictly a carry on type on girl? What type of bag do you use? and what is your method of packing? I am a carry on gyal because I refuse to pay $ 25 per bag to check it, which means I have gotten really great at packing a bag to maximize its efficiency. It is really easy to do carry on only if it is just me but when the kiddos are involved, it becomes a bit more challenging. To help solve that problem, they each have their own rollerboard suitcases (of course HRC won’t be rolling her own) plus the little boy will have a back pack with his toys, books and snacks for him and his sister to keep them entertained. We are really laid back and casual when in Jamaica, so clothing consists of shorts (for the kiddos, never ever for Mommy),tshirts, swimsuits, sundresses and flip flops most days unless we are going out for the evening. Such lightweight items take up very little space, so I should be able to get everything in that is needed. My true challenge is my boarding bag, I hate to be bored, so I take a variety of things to keep me entertained. I also have to share my boarding bag with HRC so space is at a premium with her diapers, wipes and snacks taking first preference. My laptop, Blackberry, and Kindle must come with, gotta have the travel wallet with all the travel arrangements within, and I refuse to use an icky, germy airline blanket even if you can find one, so my blanket also wants to come to the party. See what I mean, so this will be a a bit tricky but I think I can pull it off. Please share your must haves and travel packing secrets with me…I promise I won’t tell.

About Minister of Style

I am a mom of 6, and a minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ. I love fashion and always have but sometimes my vocation and my hobby clash. On this blog, I hope they can learn to co exist together. I also blog about my beautiful daughter, Tatiana who happens to have Down syndrome. She is the joy of my life and it is my prayer that people will come to know that people with Down syndrome are just that people first, the condition is secondary and should be treated as such. View all posts by Minister of Style

2 responses to “Help me pack

  • liberationtheory

    Back in the times of no child and living la vida sola, I used to just take a backpack to my twice monthly trips to TX to visit the soon-to-be wife. Ahh the days of driving to the airport straight from work on a Friday and returning first thing Monday morning for work. I would throw in a pair or two of pants, undies, a couple of tops, and the bare minimum toiletries because whatever I didn’t bring could be purchased at a local Walmart or I would steal A’s.

    Now, I can’t even leave the house without at least 2-3 diapers, wipes, a change of clothes, sippy cup, bottle, and snacks in my purse. Yes my purse.

    I haven’t traveled with LA since she was 8 months old so I can’t say what traveling will be like with her. Even then, I sucked it up and paid the checked baggage fee 😦 Now, we’re pretending to start potty-training so hopefully soon, we’ll be able to forego diapers since we use cloth and cant simply repurchase them at our final destination.

    I expect to see plenty of pictures when you all get back and don’t forget our thrifting trip. We’ll be closer neighbors in less than a month 🙂

    • rastagalnj

      I know about the “purse” aka diaper bag! Now that Tatiana is two I rarely use the real diaper bag, I figure I can get by with throwing her stuff in my bag. We are definitely gonna go thrifting before I leave for Jamaica, I might find some good stuff to take with me.

Leave a Reply

