Style…it's personal

Good morning! It’s Talkative Tueday so here goes my thought for the day. I have a good friend who frequently calls me for fashion advice, she often is not sure as to what color “goes” with this or that, or can she really wear that together? I remind her that she can wear what she likes, it’s her style…so why when I got dressed this morning did I question my decision to wear orange shoes and carry a red patent leather bag.No, those hot colors may not typically go with one another but they offered the punch of color that was needed to an otherwise somber outfit. Style is a very personal choice, it is a reflection of your personality and how you want to present yourself to the world. I often covet the style of others I see but I try to keep in mind that what they are wearing works for THEM because it is THEIR style, I may be able to recreate the look but will never be able to carry it off in the manner that they do. It’s like what God has for YOU, it is for YOU! It is very personal, very individualistic, no one can take it from you, nor can they manufacture it. There are tons of people whose personal style I recognize is fiyah, however it is not for me, just as mine may not be for you. What counts is that you develop what is YOUR personal style, a look that set you apart from others whether it is classic and traditional, eclectic and bohemian, or nerdy prepster with a dash of rock star glam thrown in. Enjoy what statement you are making through your clothes, accessories or hairstyle, don’t worry about what other people think of your style….as long as you have one and I don’t care, I just threw on what was clean doesn’t count as style. I am sure I am taking liberties that many will frown upon by using this verse in scripture but Romans 8:28 tells us to be not conformed to this world but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Change your mind about how you think people see you, in fact don’t be concerned about it, dwell on new things that are developing, create a new you through the image that you have envisioned for yourself through the power of style. I know it may be difficult at first, it was for me and at times it still is. I get lazy, uninspired, weighed down by how I am perceived, but I press on anyhow for I have purposed in my mind that I am going to present the best, most fabulous me to the world. So c’mon join me in my pledge to get your style on today and everyday…aren’t you worth it?

black jacket- DOTS, black cami-idk, white pencil skirt- DOTS, orange shoes- Bare Feet, red patent leather handbag- AJ Wright

About Minister of Style

I am a mom of 6, and a minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ. I love fashion and always have but sometimes my vocation and my hobby clash. On this blog, I hope they can learn to co exist together. I also blog about my beautiful daughter, Tatiana who happens to have Down syndrome. She is the joy of my life and it is my prayer that people will come to know that people with Down syndrome are just that people first, the condition is secondary and should be treated as such. View all posts by Minister of Style

Leave a Reply

