Out of the closet

Saturday evening was designated closet cleaning evening. Now it was not intended to be that originally but I went into my closet to get something and knocked down a whole row of jeans. I was not happy, it was after 8:00pm, the end of a long day, still had to get the kids ready for bed, prepare for church, clean the bathroom….uh huh cleaning out my closet was not on the list! So after getting the kids in bed, I started the weeding, editing, coordination and purging. At the end I was rewarded with a more organized closet. My closet wasn’t bad to begin with, just packed with clothes. You see I was sharing a closet with the two little ones, one of the drawbacks of my home is not enough storage areas, so I gave up precious closet real estate to them. Then the Designer Diva has more clothes than I do, so she was demanding her share of space. By the end of the session, I had kicked my son’s clothes out of my closet and into my husband’s, why should I bear the burden alone, lol? The result is a neater, more streamlined closet.

We have his and hers closets but since out master bedroom suite is a renovated attic space, the closets are configured weirdly. The are super long but not very wide, with bifold doors (by the way they are tools of the devil), one shelf at the top of the closet and two rods to hang clothes. I have tons of wasted space towards the back because that is the point you cannot stand to access the closet, you must literally get on your knees and crawl to the back. Needless to say, I must devise some type of organizer to utilize all that wasted space. My shoes are in clear shoes boxes, the system is totally clear is everyday shoes, red lidded boxes are special occasion shoes (ie, shoes that are just not appropriate for office wear)

I have a rolling organizer thingy to house my lingerie and hosiery, the top shelf is designated for winter accessories (hats, scarves, etc.) one one side the other holds my clutches. Handbags are on hooks on the sides of the closet, belts on a tie rack I installed in the closet and scarves in a belt holder. It for the most part is efficient but it could be better, any suggestions for that dead space?

About Minister of Style

I am a mom of 6, and a minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ. I love fashion and always have but sometimes my vocation and my hobby clash. On this blog, I hope they can learn to co exist together. I also blog about my beautiful daughter, Tatiana who happens to have Down syndrome. She is the joy of my life and it is my prayer that people will come to know that people with Down syndrome are just that people first, the condition is secondary and should be treated as such. View all posts by Minister of Style

Leave a Reply

