Sundays Best: GFS style

Happy Hump Day! I am introducing a new series of posts, titled Sundays Best, that will be written by guest bloggers showcasing their personal style for church service. It is easy to be creative during the week as we may not have restrictive work environments that prevent us from showing a funkier side of ourselves, but Sunday is a whole nother story. Can we still be our stylish selves but maintain modesty and reverance for the Lord? My first blogger is none other than Reiko of God’s Favorite Shoes. Reiko is fabulous, funny and fierce in her style, she loves the Lord with her whole heart and shares with us her thoughts about what not to wear to church. Without further ado, I present to you, Reiko.
*******************************************************************************
Let me first begin by saying that I love the Lord…he heard my cry. Amen. So pardon me while I write a private letter to God.

Dear God,

First of all, I thank you for being the head of my life even when I act like I run things and you just laugh at me as I run amuck. Thank you for your grace and mercy on that issue…I’m working on it. But can you please impress upon your people…my people…our people that you deserve to be exalted in all that we do including in how we present ourselves to you?

You have got to be tired of people treating your churches (cathedrals and synagogues…no judgement) like a casual day at the park. Aren’t you tired of that? So, I was just thinking that I would come to you in prayer (or letter on a blog) and ask that you guide us all to present ourselves to you as the GREAT I AM! You deserve that! You can walk on water and raise the dead. Surely that warrants at least a full skirt and not a drop it low skirt. No?

So, here’s a deal…not that you are in the deal making business…but roll with me. I will make sure to not snicker in church anymore at the lady in the choir stand who acts out every word of every song while singing if you can maybe guide the rest of the congregation to not wear clear heels and see-through blouses with red bras…on purpose.

Is that fair? Let me know what you think. In the mean time I want to personally say that I am working on being a better me by putting you first in all that I do. I’ve got to walk the walk and talk the talk, right? Right.

I will let you go because you are a busy God and I know this sounds so minor but the casual shenanigans in church are so distracting to me. Instead of me focusing on your word, I’m instead trying to count the number of tattoos going up the lady’s thigh sitting next to me because her skirt is so short and has the words Juicy Couture on her backside. I know that’s wrong God. I know. Who am I to judge? Nobody. I’m just saying that if it’s distracting to me, it’s got to be for the rest of the church.

That’s all.

In Total Praise,
Reiko from God’s Favorite Shoes

P.S…I’m not bragging but here are a few pics of what I wear to church. Amen

P.S.S I told ya she was fabulous! Now make sure you subscribe to her blog!

About Minister of Style

I am a mom of 6, and a minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ. I love fashion and always have but sometimes my vocation and my hobby clash. On this blog, I hope they can learn to co exist together. I also blog about my beautiful daughter, Tatiana who happens to have Down syndrome. She is the joy of my life and it is my prayer that people will come to know that people with Down syndrome are just that people first, the condition is secondary and should be treated as such. View all posts by Minister of Style

Leave a Reply

