Friend Friday:Copying in the Fashion industry

Here is the latest go round of Friend Friday…check out the links to what other fashion bloggers have to say on Katy’s blog, Modly Chic also hit up Katy is you are interested in participating in our dialogue.

1. Which side do you take… Copycat designs are a way for the average consumer to stay current and wear runway styles without breaking the bank OR Copycat designs take business from the designer and cheapen the value of their work. Explain.
I think it is a way for the round the way fashionista to wear the hot off the runway designs. Folks who truly can afford designer items will not even look at a copycat, they go straight to the real thing, so there is no danger of a designer losing business to a copycat. Heck I can’t afford the real thing however it doesn’t stop me from looking at it first.

2. Sometimes we do things, even if they are unethical or illegal (downloading music for free, watching full movies on YouTube). Do you think it is unethical for a designer to copy a vintage piece, make it current and sell it?
No, if they have found a way to totally make it their own. I should not be able to look at the garment and still see that this was a creation of so and so. It can and should retain the integrity of the original garment but with a contemporary and individual look all its own.

3. Would you buy an items that is a very well done copy of a runway garment if it fell within your budget?
Yes, I would! I cannot afford to purchase designer items, this is a way for the average woman who wants to own a piece of the runway to be able to.

4. According to the fashion laws, at least in the US, apparel design is seen as too utilitarian to qualify for copyright protection. Would you think this is detrimental to the industry or beneficial. (Check out this video on The Taxonomy of My Wardrobe to get a better idea of this concept: http://taxonomyofmywardrobe.blogspot.com/2010/08/fashion-and-copyright-laws.html)
I can see the value in both schools of thought, however I believe that if a person took the time to create a concept, then do whatever it takes to bring it to fruition then they should have the right to protect their work. I know I may be contradicting myself but until copyright laws are in place for fashion, I am not breaking any laws by buying knock offs…and p.s. I don’t do bootleg dvds/cds that I feel is stealing.

5. Own up… share the things in your closet that is a knock off. You know those things you got in China Town, on the streets of New York, or where ever.
I thrifted a leather handbag that I am unsure as to whether or not it is Prada, I also have a Louis Vuitton baguette bag that I am unsure of its true origins….it has some characterisctic of the original but I don’t know (hubby purchased it is a gift for me), a pair or two of sunnies…I seem to have a few accessories that are knock offs, not clothing though.

About Minister of Style

I am a mom of 6, and a minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ. I love fashion and always have but sometimes my vocation and my hobby clash. On this blog, I hope they can learn to co exist together. I also blog about my beautiful daughter, Tatiana who happens to have Down syndrome. She is the joy of my life and it is my prayer that people will come to know that people with Down syndrome are just that people first, the condition is secondary and should be treated as such. View all posts by Minister of Style

Leave a Reply

