Talkative Tuesday…on Thursday

Yep, you heard right (or rather saw right) I’m doing Talkative Tuesday on Thursday. I’m a rebel at heart you know but the real reason I switched it up this week is because I wanted to celebrate my 1 year anniversary of releasing my first set of locs from my head. Yeah, I’m going all mystical, LOL, but seriously on September 30, 2009 around 6:30 pm I came home from work with purpose in my heart and scissors in my hand with the intent to cut off my locs. I sat down at my vanity, took one last look at what was and began the journey to what shall become. Don’t want to be redundant so you can read why I released my locs here. In sure swift motions I released 13 plus years of love, patience and self awareness on the floor. When I was done, I was left with a short little afro (us nappturals call it a TWA…teeny weeny afro) and I felt freer than I had in a long time. With the release of hair, something else was released as well and it felt liberating! I began this natural hair care journey 14 years ago to learn to love and accept not only my hair but myself…it has been a road filled with challenges but thanks be to God, no setbacks, just a constant walk forward to embracing every part of me, including my hair.

Here we are a year later and guess what…I am loc’d AGAIN! While I enjoyed my loose naps immensely I missed the coily ropes of my locs, so after having my hair comb coiled for easy maintainence while on vacation I made the decision (kinda but default) to restart my locs. It’s been 6 months since I started the journey to my 2nd and prayerfully last set of locs and I am enjoying the process this time. With my 1st set, I was still so unsure of who I was and how I defined myself but this time…I am older, wiser and more mature and with that brings a confidence that I did not have 14 years ago. It’s a familiar place yet strange at the same time and I welcome all the possibilities that it will bring.

About Minister of Style

I am a mom of 6, and a minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ. I love fashion and always have but sometimes my vocation and my hobby clash. On this blog, I hope they can learn to co exist together. I also blog about my beautiful daughter, Tatiana who happens to have Down syndrome. She is the joy of my life and it is my prayer that people will come to know that people with Down syndrome are just that people first, the condition is secondary and should be treated as such. View all posts by Minister of Style

Leave a Reply

