Talkative Tuesday: I blog because I am and I can….

I know it’s really Wednesday but since Monday was a holiday (at least for me) then Tuesday was really Monday and today is Tuesday.  Ok, I just made all that up but it sounded good right?  Today’s topic is “Why do I blog?” We have been chatting about this very topic in the Friends Friday blogger group but I didn’t get a chance to comment on it, so I will now through my blog. I blog because it is an outlet for me to express a side of myself that other don’t always get to see unless they are a part of my personal circle.  Also, female ministers have been given a bad rap in their manner of dress.  The majority of ministers especially in the 45 and over age range dress dowdy and plain, I understand the reasons behind most of it but do not personally subscribe to that school of thought. I have been taught that preaching is not about me but about God, so I should dress to hide my personality as much as possible, so that the focus is completely on God. While I absolutely agree with no argument that ALL the focus belongs on and  to God, I disagree that a female minister cannot allow a who she is to come through in how she is attired and still make God the focus.  After all did not God call her as she was? Did He not know that she loves fashion and Jesus too? Since I know that God knows all, then I know He knew exactly who He was calling to the preaching ministry and has not only accepted it but embraced their uniqueness in their manner of dress.

 

I wholeheartedly believe  in modesty as well as an outfit should be appropriate to the occasion. A bandage dress with 5 inch stilettos are clearly inappropriate to preach in but in another venue it may be just the ticket. (I’m just saying….don’t judge) I can’t see the harm in a well tailored knee length black suit with a beautiful pair of black pumps, accessorized with a bold but tasteful necklace and silver hoop earrings or a pearl stud if you prefer, opposed to a shapeless calf length dress or suit that does not fit well, no jewelry and shoes my great grandmother would wear just to appear holy and respectable.  My goal is to dispel the myth that loving God and preaching His Word cannot be done in a body that is attractive and enjoys wearing fashionable clothing.

 

With that said, I love blogging, I love the exchange of ideas, the camaraderie and fellowship that I have experience in the blogging community  but I must admit I have at times felt discouraged because I judged myself against my lovely and fashionable fellow bloggers.  I didn’t feel that I was stylish or creative enough with my outfit compositions as some of my favorite bloggers are.  But my daughter said something profound to me yesterday as I was asking her opinion of an outfit I was putting together.  I said that I was looking for the wow, a punch to make a somber dress a little more exciting, I felt that my outfits were “boring” compared to other bloggers and she replied that she didn’t think I dressed boring.  I wrote her statement off as  throwing Mommy a bone in the compliments department but then she further elaborated and simply reminded me that for my occupation (I work for the Federal Government as a liaison for a well known elected official) and  my vocation, minister, I am stylishly appropriate.  I really allowed that to resonate within me because I finally made peace with who I am and how I want  to present myself to the world.  I may not  be the most trendy or style the most imaginative outfits however I am always uniquely and totally me.  So I will continue to blog as a vehicle to encourage and inspire other women, Christian or not, clergy or layperson to dress in the most fabulous self that they can. 

About Minister of Style

I am a mom of 6, and a minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ. I love fashion and always have but sometimes my vocation and my hobby clash. On this blog, I hope they can learn to co exist together. I also blog about my beautiful daughter, Tatiana who happens to have Down syndrome. She is the joy of my life and it is my prayer that people will come to know that people with Down syndrome are just that people first, the condition is secondary and should be treated as such. View all posts by Minister of Style

2 responses to “Talkative Tuesday: I blog because I am and I can….

  • lawyerdoll

    I know what you mean about not feeling as adventurous as other bloggers, but needing to keep the professional life in mind while dressing/blogging. As an attorney, I have the same issue.

    I’m slowly branching out, and trying to adapt some of the things I see on other blogs into tamer versions that won’t get me laughed out of court. I post not only my successes, but also the trainwrecks, because the process of reviewing photos and blogging is a real education.

    So enjoy, and see you in the blogosphere!

Leave a Reply

