Friend Friday: Blogging from the Beginning

(singing in my happiest voice) Friday, Thank God it’s Friday! I’ve got a lot going on this weekend beginning with this evening.  Attending a workshop facilitated by one of my closest friends at my church, Smyrna Missionary Baptist Church, Newark, NJ. Doing the wifely and mommy stuff on Saturday (cleaning, grocery shopping, etc.) Then Sunday, I am walking in the American Cancer Society’s Breast Cancer Walk plus I ‘m a virtual walker at the 2010 Mid South Step Up for Down syndrome Walkathon that is being held in Memphis, Tennessee. I wish I could be there in person to walk however in honor of my friend, Diane,  whose daughter Mary Ellen has Down syndrome like my own precious daughter, Tatiana. I support the walkathon with my prayers and positive thoughts.   And after that i will be celebrating Women’s Day with the women of my church with a dynamic speaker and explosive worship. If you are in the area, please come out and join us!

Now on to the blogging….it’s Friend Friday again and we are talking about the nuts and bolts of blogging as a beginning. Head on over to Modly Chic to see the roundtable of bloggers or if you desire to participate.

1. How has your blog changed over the months/years you’ve been
blogging?

Well to start, I changed the name as well as the focus of the blog.  This blog originally was to be about home management, then it was going to be about giving my feeling a voice and a home then finally I settled in to where we are now… fashion from a minister’s point of view.

 
2. What was one thing you did wrong in the beginning and how have you
changed that?

LOL, I don’t know but I am sure I am still doing it . No, but seriously I am still new at blogging (at least with this blog, I have had others) it hasn’t been a year with this blog yet so I am learning new things as I go along, picking up helpful tips and implementing them as needed.

 
3. When you visit a blog what’s the greatest turn off? The thing that
makes you close the tab?

If I am looking for personal style blogs, then I don’t want to see a bunch of posts about designers,

I want to see how YOU style your clothes and hear what YOU have to say!  If I wanted to read a magazine then I would buy one.

4. How did you find your voice?

Not sure if I have entirely but I am working on it!

5. If you had three pieces of advice to give to a new blogger what
would those be?

Get plugged in to the blogging community early,  research your topic thoroughly and  write what you feel with passion….believe in the power of your thoughts.

P.S. This is my outfit of the day

 

minister of style 928 013

About Minister of Style

I am a mom of 6, and a minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ. I love fashion and always have but sometimes my vocation and my hobby clash. On this blog, I hope they can learn to co exist together. I also blog about my beautiful daughter, Tatiana who happens to have Down syndrome. She is the joy of my life and it is my prayer that people will come to know that people with Down syndrome are just that people first, the condition is secondary and should be treated as such. View all posts by Minister of Style

5 responses to “Friend Friday: Blogging from the Beginning

Leave a Reply

