Friend Friday: Getting back to Basics..Going All Natural

So here goes this week’s questions:

1. The move to do away with soap, shampoo and deodorant has been
growing in popularity in the last year. What are your thoughts on this
trend?
I know that it is suggested that it is healthy for the person as well as the environment however I am not ready to jump on the bandwagon and rid myself of these personal grooming items. I would like to find natural/organic alternatives that actually work as effectively as the non natural counterparts.

2. Be honest how often do you wash your own hair?
Well to begin with, I’m African American and I have dreadlocs. We don’t typically wash our hair daily unless we are wearing our hair natural and then usually only when it is short in length. Some of us may rinse our hair daily (I rinse daily in the summer months when the weather is warm and hair dries easily and spritz during the colder months) but I personally wash my hair weekly… ok maybe bi weekly, lol.

3. Have you tried to go the more natural route by forgoing shampoo?
What happened? Or would you be tempted to try it?
Yes ,I have tried it before and I was fine with it. When my hair was short I wore a TWA (teeny weeny afro), I did the no poo system which was no shampoo, using conditioner only and I rinsed it partially out. I kept enough to coat my hair so it would be easy to manage.

4. What products do you use and have you ever gone with more organic
alternatives?
I don’t use any natural or organic products on a regular basis at this time on my body (sometimes I shampoo with Dr. Bronner’s Peppermint shampoo), however I am open to trying some if they work as well as what I currently use. I am not loyal to any particular product, I like variety so I switch products often. I do use natural hair products, such as essential oils for my locs to condition and bring a healthy sheen. I also make my own loc butter to retwist my hair. It is made from honey, aloe vera gel and extra virgin olive oil

5. What about that daily shower? Would you forgo that opting to shower
three times a week instead?
Whaat?? Does this mean no washing at all, or only a basin wash up? Anyhoo, I don’t think I can forgo a daily shower! I need to feel clean and for me only having my body fully immersed in water does the trick for me.

Friend Friday is the brainchild of Katy of Modly Chic. If you are interested in participating or reading what the other bloggers have to say about this topic, Get thee over to her blog, pronto!

About Minister of Style

I am a mom of 6, and a minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ. I love fashion and always have but sometimes my vocation and my hobby clash. On this blog, I hope they can learn to co exist together. I also blog about my beautiful daughter, Tatiana who happens to have Down syndrome. She is the joy of my life and it is my prayer that people will come to know that people with Down syndrome are just that people first, the condition is secondary and should be treated as such. View all posts by Minister of Style

3 responses to “Friend Friday: Getting back to Basics..Going All Natural

Leave a Reply

