Self Promotion: This is how we do it

The Friend Friday group is always chatting it up about something or another..we’re bloggers this is what we do but this week, the topic that is top of the list is, Blogger Self Promotion. So let’s get to it and find out how we promote ourselves to the world.

1. How do you promote your blog?
Through Facebook, Twitter, leaving comments on other blogs and just plain ole word of mouth! I yeah I guess participating in FF is helping too. I’m gonna invest in some business card soon and buy a domain name also.

2. In your experience what has been the most effective form of self
promotion?
Engaging the blogger community through comments and tweets. Once you are getting out there so to speak, traffic will come from a variety of sources.

3. Do you think there is a wrong way to promote yourself and your
blog?
Not really, but I don’t want to be the woman who is always pushing her link at you everytime she tweets. I would love to have a huge following but not at the expense of being pushy and overbearing. I am truly loving the slow growth and fostering of relationships.

4. When it comes to others pushing their product what annoys you?
The common comment when visiting someone blog…cute outfit, check out my blog, http://imsopushy.com. Seriously and I should want to check out your blog after that?

5. In Dressful’s post on this topic earlier in the week she said,
“It’s impossible to respect someone who wants all the attention, but
adds nothing worthwhile to the conversation.” Do you agree?
I do but only if she is a well seasoned blogger who know blogger ettiquette but ignores it because she is a spotlight hogging little scene stealer. Ok but for reals, yeah I was for real but in addition, people will naturally want to see who you are and what you have to say when you are interested in what is important to them as well. 

As always, we welcome your participating in our dialogue. If interested contact Katy Rose at Modly Chic to get on board. While over there check out the rest of the Friend Friday crew. (I have a linky up but it has issues and doesn’t want to work properly for me)

photo credit: http//:tvtropes.org

About Minister of Style

I am a mom of 6, and a minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ. I love fashion and always have but sometimes my vocation and my hobby clash. On this blog, I hope they can learn to co exist together. I also blog about my beautiful daughter, Tatiana who happens to have Down syndrome. She is the joy of my life and it is my prayer that people will come to know that people with Down syndrome are just that people first, the condition is secondary and should be treated as such. View all posts by Minister of Style

11 responses to “Self Promotion: This is how we do it

  • Allie

    I love reading your Friend Friday posts!

    Totally agree with all your responses. In some ways I hate Twitter, but one reason I love it is that I think a lot of people’s true personalities come out and you can see who is super self-absorbed and pushy, and those who see the blogosphere (and I guess Twittersphere) as a community where they wish to be involved. I have really adjusted my Google Reader and Twitter followers based upon this.

  • liberationtheory

    I really liked this post as well. I have been trying to figure out how to promote my blog more, though I don’t want to do it via facebook– too many people I know IRL. You’ve given a lot of great suggestions (though I follow your blog b/c you rock, not because of your promotion 🙂

    • Minister of Style

      You know I love you! I too have slight issues with the FB thing, so I make concessions by not being totally as transparent as I would like to be. I want my blog to not only be entertaining but a blessing to people as well. Still trying to find that balance as I don’t want to come off as too “preachy” lol that’s funny since I am a preacher. And you my dear rock so much more than I do. You are living your life out loud, no apologies and my beloved sister that takes courage!

  • gen321

    I really needed to read this! I am a new blogger and I use some of the tactics you mentioned to promote your blog. I want to put myself out there, but as you said, I don’t want to be pushy or overbearing. Reading this is making me review some of my self-promotion ways and means. LOL! I was also thinking about buying a domain name, do you have any thouhgts on the pros and cons of doing this?

    • Minister of Style

      For of all thanks for commenting! Now I am one of the “new” kids on the block so to speak. This is not my first blog but my first blog that I have given so much attention and care to. I want to purchase a domain name because I want to grow this blog into a ministry, so I need to make it easier for people to find me. Listen shoot me an email or hit me up on KiK and we can continue this further. rastagalnj on Kik.

  • Danielle

    At the risk of sounding totally random, I was in Avenue today and saw someone who looks just like you. I was tempted to say hello but didn’t want to look like a stalker.

Leave a Reply

