Keeping it Stylish and Pretty


image credit, http://www.dreamstime.com

Good afternoon (I need a an adjective to describe all you lovely people who take the time to read my blog, all the good one have been taken) I was driving home from work last night and a question, no more like a feeling from within came bubbling up to the surface. As I pondered the thoughts swirling in my head I decided that I can’t be alone in feeling this way, there are probably lots of women who are struggling with the same thing. So my question to you is how do you maintain the chic? How do you day after day go through the motions of putting your best foot, hand and face forward to the world? I wear a lot of hats, a whole lot of them, I am a wife, mother, minister, daughter, sister, friend, employee, blogger, advocate, plus a few more…most of them I enjoy wearing on a daily basis however as much as I love my hats, they can be draining to the spirit at times. The many roles I play are attached to situations and circumstances that often bring joy and happiness but oftentimes they bring sadness, frustration and disappointment because of things beyong my control. During those times it is so hard to care about what matches with this or how I should wear that, when those times occur I can barely manage to get dressed much less be concerned about how I look or who may see me today.

Now I know that taking care of self is important regardless of what may be going on in one’s life however what do you to get the juices flowing in the right direction when the furthest thing from your mind is worrying about how ragged your cuticles are, your eyebrows need some serious attention (like mine do now, lol) and although people seek your counsel for fashion advice right now you ask your self why because the most fashionable thing you have worn is a bathrobe in days? I know I cannot be the only one who has expericenced this, I am not the only one who has a boat load of responsibility on her shoulders and needs encouragement from the sisterhood of stylish women who have weathered the storm fashionably??. Talk to me, let’s discuss how you get through…how you get your pretty on when you just ain’t feeling it.

About Minister of Style

I am a mom of 6, and a minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ. I love fashion and always have but sometimes my vocation and my hobby clash. On this blog, I hope they can learn to co exist together. I also blog about my beautiful daughter, Tatiana who happens to have Down syndrome. She is the joy of my life and it is my prayer that people will come to know that people with Down syndrome are just that people first, the condition is secondary and should be treated as such. View all posts by Minister of Style

6 responses to “Keeping it Stylish and Pretty

  • liberationtheory

    I can’t wait to see what other people reply because I seriously need to take notes. Like STAT.

    The times that I’ve been successful with being put together, even when I’m dog tired, is when I create a 30-day challenge for myself. But that’s temporary..

    • Minister of Style

      Me too! I’m pretty good as long as I am feeling good but my problem is when life is getting thick…that’s the challenge for me. My first instinct is to grab whatever is near and clean throw it on and go. Then when I get a good look at myself, I cringe at the thought that I actually came out of the house like that and to work no less.

  • lawyerdoll

    That’s why I started my blog… I was wearing the same 5-7 work outfits every week, and was bored stupid.

    Knowing that I’m going to post my daily photo pushes me to make the extra effort, especially not wanting the embarassment of reposting the same few outfits too often.

    • Minister of Style

      One of the reasons I love your blog is because of your honesty and transparency in blogging. You post the good as well as the bad and you are not afraid to critique yourself before the blogosphere…love. it! I have to push myself when I am feeling ho hum or else there would be nothing to blog about.

  • Anna

    Some years ago, I read this by Arthur Ashe:

    “Regardless of how you feel inside, always try to look like a winner. Even if you are behind, a sustained look of control and confidence can give you a mental edge that results in victory.”

    I took “look like a winner” to mean, dress well. Power dressing. And I must say, I feel far more ready for the challenges of the day when I know that I look sharp.

    • Minister of Style

      Hi Anna, I do feel better when I am looking sharp, but it just gets a little difficult when life is a little difficult, however I do try to keep it together. I agree it give you a little edge and I must admit when I am faced with situations that I don’t necessarily want to have to deal with just the idea that I look polished and appropriately dressed gives me a lift. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

