Friend Friday: Blogger Burnout, When is Enough, enough?

1. How many hours a week do you spend blogging? Has that number changed since you started blogging?
I really haven’t sat down and figured it out however on an average I do something on this blog daily that usually takes a minimum of 2 hours, so lets just say roughly I spend about 10 plus hours a week. I am only counting Monday through Friday, I rarely blog or even turn on the laptop on weekends. Now, I also have another blog, Designer Diva: I’m handcrafted by God and I’ve got the genes to prove it which talks about the life of my beautiful daughter, Tatiana who was born with Down syndrome. I haven’t updated her blog too much because she has been so typical 2 year old kid like, that I can’t keep up with her and all her shenanigans. That blog needs to gets it’s fair share of attention when I have time as well.

2. There is always more you can do, write, read, comment on… how do you limit your time spent on these tasks?
I don’t know, that can be a problem for me at times but when I realize that I have spent 2 hours on trying to come up with the perfect header for my blog (like I did yesterday, lol) without having done anything else, I back away from the blog and move on to something different. It becomes all consuming for me when I get on to something.

3. Have you experienced Blogger burnout yet? How have you dealt with that?
Truthfully yes, I love this blog but I have put unnecessary pressure on myself to post updates on a regular basis, so that I don’t lose the readers that I have. What was just fun in the beginning, feels burdensome at times. The burdening feeling though comes from me and me alone, the desire to stay “in the loop” so to speak has caused me to feel stressed, so when that happens I retreat and post nothing at all. Also I have been experiencing some difficult and challenging situations in my life of late, the effects of which have left me worn out with little desire to do much of anything, let alone blog. However I do push myself to forge on not only for my readers but for myself. I have found that if I give in to the feelings of defeat and depression, I am even moreso overwhelmed by feeling the loss of self and what pleases me. I feel like not only has the situation taken over my control but my entire life as well…..that I won’t allow.

4. This time of the year is always a lot busier than any other time.
Will your blogging change as a result?
I don’t think so, I concede that for most people the holidays are very busy family intensive times. However for me my schedule won’t change much from what is already going on. If I am blogging less it is not due to the holidays but the circumstances of my life right now.

5. Could you forsee a moment in which you are not blogging anymore?
How would you you identify that it’s time to walk away?
Yes, I can see it how things could change and I may not be blogging about fashion and style but I will always be chronicling the events of my life and ministry in some form. This is a charge that I have from God, it is a part of my ministry to document the events of my life so that someone’s life will be touched by mine and God will be glorified! I do not get very personal on this blog, although I am dying to.There is so much I have to say, I struggle with how much is too much. I know that I have a life that has been filled with experiences, good and not so good, that were not made just for me to learn from. I want to encourage and empower women with the knowledge that God has given me so that we can all function as healthy, whole, glorious creations with gifts and talents to share with the world. Whew…ok I am getting ready to get my preach on but you get what I am saying right? I don’t have a clue as to when I would walk away but I know I would feel that it is time to go in another direction.

About Minister of Style

I am a mom of 6, and a minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ. I love fashion and always have but sometimes my vocation and my hobby clash. On this blog, I hope they can learn to co exist together. I also blog about my beautiful daughter, Tatiana who happens to have Down syndrome. She is the joy of my life and it is my prayer that people will come to know that people with Down syndrome are just that people first, the condition is secondary and should be treated as such. View all posts by Minister of Style

2 responses to “Friend Friday: Blogger Burnout, When is Enough, enough?

Leave a Reply

