Friend Friday: Are We Connected?

Hey everyone! How did Friday sneak up on me so fast? The last time I looked it was Wednesday but since Friday has arrived, I am not complaining! Since you know the day, you know what time it is….it’s Friend Friday. I’ve been participating in this group for a minute now, so you know what comes next, read on. Today’s topic is reader connectedness.


image credit:picasaweb.google.com

1. How important do you think reader connectedness is to the success
of your blog?
Well it depends on the reasons why you blog, if you are doing it to have a written account just for you and you alone, then no it doesn’t. However if you are blogging to gain readers then it absolutely counts. If your readers don’t connect with you then they will not hang around to see what you do or say next.

2. What do you do to draw readers in and create that writer-reader
bond?
Truthfully I don’t have a clue, I try to be as authentic and transparent as I can, writing in my own voice, doing and saying what are my truths and hoping that someone can see something in me that connects with them. It is not something purposefully but I definitely want it. I love it when I can tell I am vibing with a reader, then I want to make friends with them, go on my eternal quest to meet everyone I have come in contact with on cyberspace that I like and who has not shown themselves to be a crazy stalker.

3. What is one way you could improve this connection?
I make sure I respond to comments that are left for me, I talk to them as if we are already friends, visit their blogs if they have one and overall just show enthusiasm for them taking the time to read what I have written.

4. Is there a blogger you think does a great job creating that writer-
reader bond? Why?
There are quite a few so I am not gonna go naming names then I am sure to leave somebody out that I didn’t mean to. But I have actually started forming a few friendship with certain bloggers who have reached out and grabbed me in such a way that I could not ignore. I say we were destined to be friends.

5. What do you do to cultivate new readers? How do you get them to
your site in the first place?
Facebook, Twitter, personal contacts….you name it! I don’t have a strategy as of yet…don’t know if I ever will, I enjoy the traffic I get, no matter how much of it I get. I am always excited when I get that little notification that someone has left me a comment or lately subscribed to my blog. It means that I have touched you in someway and to me that is way cool….

Katy Rose of Modly Chic does what she does by thinking up these fascinating questions about all kinds of interesting topics for us to dish about. Wanna get you opinions heard? Then contact her stat (I love saying that..it made me giggle.)

About Minister of Style

I am a mom of 6, and a minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ. I love fashion and always have but sometimes my vocation and my hobby clash. On this blog, I hope they can learn to co exist together. I also blog about my beautiful daughter, Tatiana who happens to have Down syndrome. She is the joy of my life and it is my prayer that people will come to know that people with Down syndrome are just that people first, the condition is secondary and should be treated as such. View all posts by Minister of Style

2 responses to “Friend Friday: Are We Connected?

  • Danielle

    I’ll say it again…I’m not stalking you but I think you walked by me in Shop-Rite in Hillside on Sunday. You walked by so quickly I couldn’t stop you to be sure.

    • Minister of Style

      LOL, Danielle this is way too funny and cannot be coincidental! I don’t think you are stalking me, we probably live in the same community for all I know. And yes I was in Shop Rite on Sunday… After church pit stop for snacks for after nap munchies!

Leave a Reply

